New Zealand

Ruapehu Alpine Lifts


In September 1887 the sacred mountain peaks, Ruapehu, Ngauruhoe and Tongariro were gifted to the people of New Zealand by the Paramount Chief of Ngati Tuwharetoa, Horonuku Te Heu Heu Tukino, thus ensuring their protection for all people for all time. This gift formed the nucleus of Tongariro National Park, New Zealand's First National Park and a dual World Heritage Area.

Whakapapa Ski Area is located on the northern slopes of Mt Ruapehu which are the traditional lands of the Ngati Tuwharetoa people. The upper slopes are within the original gifted area. Turoa Ski Area is located on the southern slopes of Mt Ruapehu which are the traditional lands of the Ngati Rangi and Ngati Uenuku people.

With the largest lift accessed terrain, the highest lift in New Zealand and a massive 722m vertical descent; Mt Ruapehu provides MORE terrain, MORE choice and MORE freedom. One Mt Ruapehu lift pass gives access to both Whakapapa and Turoa Ski Areas.

Ruapehu Alpine Lifts operates both ski areas under licences issued by the Department of Conservation.

For further information on the Tongariro National Park, check out the great assortment of resources and information that the Department of Conservation have put together or check out the Visit Ruapehu site for regional information & Tongariro National Park resources

© Copyright 2012 - 2019. Kiwiway Vacations.
Tourism websites by Tomahawk